• News
Middle School Recognizes Character and Scholarship With Award Ceremony


Middle School leadership, grade-level leaders and department chairs recognized students in their division for outstanding character and scholarship in a pre-recorded presentation shared with families on Thursday, May 27.

Enjoy the video presentation in its entirety or read the event program. Time markers for each part of the presentation are included below.

In keeping with Ravenscroft’s long tradition of character development, the Middle School recognizes two students from each grade level for their spirit and integrity. Middle School counselor Merritt Cole announced the following awards (1:00):

  • The Layne Stirman Character Award was awarded this year to sixth-graders Yara Othman and Cavan Sheehan. 

  • The Edward C. Yohman Award was given to seventh-graders Hayden Perry and Ethan Dinitz. 

  • The Ione D. Pegram Award — given with pride this year by Lindsey and Kyleigh Pegram, granddaughters of the award’s namesake, who served for many years as the Middle School secretary — recognized eighth-graders Gaddyn Cole and Henry Zhang.

Faculty also recognize students for academic achievement (2:40). The Scholar Award goes to students at each grade level for their overall outstanding work in the classroom. This year’s honorees are Carys Thomas ’27, Addison Diener ’26, and Olivia Rivera ’25 and Henry Zhang ’25.

In addition, each department gives Academic Awards to eighth-graders who have exemplified excellence in their subjects. These students were recognized:

  • Language Arts

    • College Preparatory Language Arts - Morgan Riley ’25

    •  Advanced Language Arts - Beixi Gu ’25

  • Math

    • Pre-Algebra - Jin Jeong ’25

    • Algebra - Hannah Morgan ’25

    • Geometry - Sunny Donthi ’25

  • Science - Drew Davis ’25

  • History - Keira Segars ’25

  • World Language

    • Latin - Shirley Yang ’25

    • Mandarin - Ethan Silverman ’25

    • Spanish - Lily Rankin ’25

  • Fine Arts

    • Art - Isabella Robinson ’25

    • Band - Emily Capell ’25

    • Choir - Bryce Augusti ’25

    • Theatre - Sasha Olander ’25

    • Strings - Paulie Brooks ’25

  • Physical Education - Lotta Schacht ’25 and Andy Vitello ’25

  • STEM+ - Zach Peverall ’25

The division also recognizes one student per grade level with the DAR Youth Citizenship Medal (5:55). This year’s recipients are Zara Ali ’27, Sophia Quezada ’26 and Austin Greene ’25.

The Fine Arts Department announced this year’s recipients of the Hunter Family Scholarship in the Fine and Performing Arts (6:40), which provides high-performing eighth-graders with merit funding for each of their four years in the Upper School as well as a summer enrichment opportunity in the arts. Congratulations to Olivia Rivera ’25 and Benya Wilfret ’25 on being selected as the newest class of Hunter Scholars.

Head of Middle School Tinnie Salzano said in closing, “I want to extend my heartfelt congratulations to our award winners who have been recognized for their academic achievements and outstanding character. I hope seeing this ceremony will inspire our students to pursue excellence in all aspects of their lives. Have a wonderful summer — stay safe and stay well!”

Enjoy all of our end-of-year presentations on our website.