• News
Ravens’ Academic Achievements Recognized by National Programs


Photos showing students recognized by National Merit and College Board

At top, National Merit Semifinalists Eun Yoo ’24 and Tul Cherukuri ’24; at bottom, College Board National Recognition Programs honorees Joshua Quezada ’24, Henry Grant ’24 and Andrew Abbott ’24. Not pictured: Nydia Davis ’25, Kaleb James ’25, Anthony Omonte ’25

A total of 12 Upper School students have been recognized by two national programs — the National Merit Scholarship Competition and the College Board National Recognition Programs — for their outstanding academic achievements across several rigorous metrics. 

National Merit Scholarship Competition

Seniors Tul Cherukuri ’24 and Eun Yoo ’24 have been named National Merit Semifinalists. The National Merit Scholarship Competition uses PSAT/NMSQT [Pre-SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test] Selection Index scores as an initial screen of some 1.3 million program entrants. Only 16,000 of the high scorers, representing less than 1% of the nation’s high school graduating seniors, qualify each year as semifinalists. Semifinalists have an opportunity to advance in the competition for Merit Scholarship awards.

In addition, five more seniors were given commendations for being among the 50,000 highest scorers on the 2023 PSAT/NMSQT. Congratulations to Arnav Gupta ’24, Sophia Hopper ’24, Tessa Lee ’24, Grayson Marty ’24 and Grace McDaniel ’24 for this achievement.

College Board National Recognition Programs

The College Board National Recognition Programs has recognized five Upper School Ravens for their academic performance, PSAT/NMSQT and/or Advanced Placement exam scores, and a program application. These programs celebrate students’ hard work in high school and showcase their strong academic performance. The academic honors for rural-area, Black, Indigenous and/or Latino students are an opportunity for students to share their strong academic achievements with colleges and scholarship programs that are seeking to recruit diverse talent.

Students who earned this distinction are:

  • Andrew Abbott ’24: National Hispanic Recognition Award

  • Nydia Davis ’25: National African American Recognition Award

  • Henry Grant ’24: National African American Recognition Award

  • Kaleb James ’25: National African American Recognition Award

  • Anthony Omonte ’25: National Hispanic Recognition Award

  • Joshua Quezada ’24: National Hispanic Recognition Award

Congratulations to all of these students for their impressive achievements!

Note: This story was updated on Sept. 26, 2023, and Oct. 26, 2023, to include all students recognized by these organizations.