• News
Tul Cherukuri ’24 Receives Worthington Award at Honors Convocation


Clockwise from top left: Valedictorian and Clarke Worthington award winner Tul Cherukuri ’24 with her advisor, Maddie Steinmetz; Head of Upper School Aaron Sundstrom; Athletic Achievement Award recipient JJ Mitchell ’24 with Athletic Director Ned Gonet; 10th-grade subject-area achievement award winners Alexa Wadley ’26, Macey Malik ’26, Linh Tran ’26 and Sammey Malik ’26

Members of the Upper School community gathered in Warner Arena on Thursday, May 23, to recognize and celebrate the outstanding achievements of students in ninth through 12th grades. For many Ravens, the awards announced during the assembly are the culmination of years of hard work and dedication. 

Attendees enjoyed a prelude performed by the Class of 2024’s Hunter Scholars: Hope Hauck ’24, Grace Petrov ’24, Kylie Scott ’24, Audrey Stock ’24, Alexii Cady ’24 and Malachi Ogwangi ’24. 

Following a welcome by Head of Upper School Aaron Sundstrom, Head of School Doreen Kelly announced the valedictorian for the Class of 2024, Tul Cherukuri ’24. The valedictorian is the senior with the highest cumulative grade-point average over at least four full semesters at Ravenscroft. 

Later in the program, senior advisor Maddie Steinmetz presented Tul with the Upper School’s highest student honor: the Clarke Worthington III Outstanding Character Award. Created in memory of the Upper School’s first academic dean, the award is presented to the senior “whose character, integrity and treatment of other people best provides leadership by example,” celebrating those who embody the values of kindness, respect and unwavering integrity in every facet of their lives. “Throughout her journey at Ravenscroft, [Tul] has consistently demonstrated her commitment to serving others and fostering an inclusive, supportive environment for all,” Steinmetz said. “Her impact on our community is profound, touching the lives of both students and faculty in meaningful ways, and extends far beyond the confines of the classroom walls.”

Steinmetz continued:

One notable example of her leadership can be seen in her dedicated service on the Honor Council. As a member of this esteemed body, she exemplified grace, empathy and fairness, ensuring that her peers who came before the council were not only heard and understood but also provided with the support and guidance they needed to learn and grow from their experiences. Instead of merely focusing on punishment, she prioritized rehabilitation, working tirelessly to foster a culture of understanding and accountability within our community.

Beyond her work on the Honor Council, she has also demonstrated exceptional leadership as a leader of the [Pan Asian] Affinity Group. She worked collaboratively with students within our community to foster dialogue, understanding and solidarity among peers of diverse backgrounds and to create a mural that will eventually hang in one of the stairwells. Her dedication to promoting inclusivity and celebrating cultural diversity has enriched our community immeasurably, reminding us of the strength that comes from embracing our differences. 

But perhaps most importantly, she leads not just by words or through her numerous leadership positions, but by example. In her interactions with others, she embodies the values of respect, inclusivity and genuine kindness. She treats everyone she encounters with dignity and compassion, regardless of background or circumstance.

Clockwise from top: Alexa Gillon ’24 with West Point Admissions officer Greg Gebhardt; 10th-grade Scholar Award recipient Cashier Brooks ’26 and parents; Outstanding Student Award recipient Yara Othman’27 and classmates during the award presentations

In addition to these recognitions, Sundstrom, Associate Head of School Justin Brandon, Associate Head of Upper School Angela Miklavcic Brandon, Director of Athletics Ned Gonet, Director of Fine Arts David McChesney and Upper School deans and advisors shared achievements and presented awards to students across all four grades.

Top awards include the Scholar Awards, given to one student per grade who is considered to be the most scholarly student. Recognized this year were: 

  • Rainy Ye ’27

  • Cashier Brooks ’26

  • Henry Zhang ’25

  • Sofia Herbert ’24 

Also of note are the Outstanding Student Awards, which honor two students at each grade level who have maintained a high scholastic average and been actively involved in school activities. These students received that award:

  • Sierra Kish ’27 and Yara Othman ’27

  • Macey Malik ’26 and Amelia Ward ’26

  • Jai Gupta ’25 and Andy Vitello ’25

  • Maya Agrawal ’24 and Eun Yoo ’24

One other very special announcement was shared with the school community by Lt. Col. Greg Gebhardt of the Office of Admissions for the U.S. Military Academy at West Point: Alexa Gillon ’24, an honors student who has earned many accolades during her time at Ravenscroft, has received an appointment to attend the service academy. In his remarks, Gebhardt emphasized both how rigorous and selective the admissions process for West Point is and how demanding the expectations are, congratulating Alexa and thanking her for her willingness to serve her country. 

Many other Upper School Ravens received well-deserved awards and distinctions at Honors Convocation. Read the full list of awards and honorees in the assembly program. View and download photos in our Flickr gallery. Congratulations to all!