• News
Upper School Celebrates Scholarship, Leadership at Honors Convocation

In keeping with the yearly tradition, the Upper School celebrated students' academic, character, service, athletic, fine arts and spirit-related achievements with the Honors Convocation, which was shared with students in a recorded presentation on Friday, May 22.

The excellence of the Class of 2020 has already been recognized in numerous ways. The class boasts 51 members of the National Honors Society; 18 members inducted into the Cum Laude Society; 10 National Merit Commended Students and five National Merit Finalists; more than $4M in scholarship awards; admission to 144 colleges and universities; 14 students headed to college athletics, including three at U.S. service academies; and more.

Below is a partial list of students from all four grades who were recognized for excellence and service this year. Please view the Honors Convocation program for the complete list of scholarship announcements, honors and award winners. Congratulations to all of the Ravens recognized for their achievements!

The Clarke Worthington Award, one of Ravenscroft's most distinguished awards given to students, was presented to Eleanor Campbell '20. The award honors the senior whose character, integrity and treatment of other people exemplify leadership by example.

The Scholar Awards honor one student at each grade level who is considered by the faculty to be the most scholarly student. In addition to grade-point average, the awards recognize creativity, love of learning, ability to reason, and being analytical and objective. The Scholar Award takes precedence over all other awards. The 2020 recipients of this award by grade are:

  • Ninth grade: Bennett Gillespie '23
  • 10th grade: Lindsey Carter '22
  • 11th grade: Thomas Barker '21
  • 12th grade: Skylar Wiseman '20

The Outstanding Student Awards honor two students at each grade level who have maintained a high scholastic average and have been actively involved in school activities. These students will not receive an academic achievement award or a service award because the Outstanding Student Award encompasses superior achievement in every discipline. This year's recipients by grade are:

  • Ninth grade: Jenna Seidenfrau '23 and Sophie Thomas '23
  • 10th grade: Delaney Washington '22 and Georgia Winston '22
  • 11th grade: Talia Granick '21 and David Gring '21
  • 12th grade: Eleanor Campbell '20, Lauren Carter '20 and Caroline Rutigliano '20

Honor Awards recognize outstanding students across a variety of disciplines and requirements.

  • The Valedictorian, Class of 2020, is the senior with the highest cumulative GPA calculated after exams in May and based on at least four full semesters at Ravenscroft. This year's valedictorian is Eleanor Campbell '20.
  • The Class Speaker, Class of 2020, is a senior who combines the qualities of high scholarship, character and extracurricular involvement and is elected by the members of the class. This year's class speaker is Brad Taber '20.
  • Robert P. Holding Memorial Scholarships honor two sophomores who have demonstrated the qualities of academic excellence, outstanding character and leadership. Recipients must have a cumulative GPA higher than 3.9, participate in athletics and other extracurricular activities and demonstrate outstanding character. This year's recipients are Dylan Norona '22 and Georgia Winston '22.
  • Rensselaer Medal, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Excellence in Math and Science is awarded to a junior who is a promising student who has distinguished themselves in mathematics and science. The recipient of this award is guaranteed a scholarship worth a minimum $25,000 per year for four years if they are accepted to and enroll in Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. This year's recipient is Thomas Barker '21.
  • Johns Hopkins Book Award is presented to the junior who best exhibits the qualities and characteristics that form the core of the Johns Hopkins ethic, including a demonstrated desire for intellectual and moral growth; an uncommon interest in, and capacity for, independent and original scholarship; and the strength of character necessary to employ the results of their scholarship for the betterment of society. The recipient this year is Alexa Tascher '21.
  • Wellesley College Book Award honors a young woman in the junior class whose academic record and character are exceptional and who has made significant personal contributions to her school and/or community. This year's recipient is Jane Atkeson '21.
  • The Cliosophic Society Book Award is given by the members of the Ravenscroft Upper School History Department to the exceptional senior or junior who displays singular excellence in the pursuit of historical understanding through scholarship and independent inquiry. The award winner is also recognized by the National History Club as the school's History Student of the Year. This year's winner is Kyle Hankins '20.