• News
Upper School Closes Year With Honors Convocation

Upper School leadership, grade-level deans, advisors and department chairs recognized students in their division for outstanding character and scholarship in a pre-recorded presentation shared with families on Thursday, May 27.

Enjoy the video presentation in its entirety here or read the event program. Time markers for each part of the presentation are included below.

Head of Upper School Aaron Sundstrom opened the presentation, saying, “While this school year has certainly been memorable for the challenges we have faced as a community, it is also memorable for the extraordinary accomplishments of our students. There is so much happening at Ravenscroft each day, and I hope you enjoy hearing about the many students that have distinguished themselves in so many ways.”

Talia Granick ’21 was recognized with the school’s highest character award, the Clark Worthington III Outstanding Character Award. Her advisor, Sarah Wike, conferred the award (19:11), saying in part:

I cannot think of a year during my lifetime when leadership has been more on display. We have seen just how integral the traits of character, integrity and the treatment of other people are to great leadership in the interdependent, complex and ever-changing world in which we live.

Talia Granick '21 with her family at the Baccalaureate Ceremony

Talia Grannick embodies these leadership attributes at the highest level. She is smart, conscientious and hardworking in a seemingly effortless way. She is confident, direct and self-assured yet never arrogant. Talia rarely seems overwhelmed and somehow exudes determination, dedication and fearlessness in her every endeavor. On top of all this, Talia is simultaneously funny and caring. She has teased me about one thing or another over the years, but always in a way that lets me know she cares about me and has taken the time to get to know me.

Talia is actively involved in SGA, is Senior Class President, leads SPEAK, is president of the Jewish Affinity Group, participates in track & field and has been a varsity boys soccer manager, in addition to maintaining extremely high academic standards. All of these factors have led to Talia being accepted at Duke University, where she will matriculate in the fall.

Members of the faculty and Upper School leadership presented many other awards as well. First, Latin teacher Jonathan Avery announced the students, including those seniors who were inducted last year, whose academic record has earned them a place in the Cum Laude Society (1:15). 

Sundstrom then announced the students, one per grade level, who are recipients of the prestigious Scholar Awards (3:53):

  • Tul Cherukuri ’24

  • Sophie Thomas ’23

  • Michael Rutigliano ’22

  • Jane Atkeson ’21

In addition, these students were recognized with the Outstanding Student Awards (4:46):

  • Alexa Gillon ’24 and Sophia Hopper ’24 

  • Carter Anderson ’23 , Mike Hollingshead ’23 and  Helena Yang ’23 

  • Olivia Barefoot ’22 and Delaney Washington ’22 

  • Thomas Barker ’21 and David Gring ’21

The final awards in this group were the Academic Achievement Awards (5:42), presented by the grade-level deans. 

Sundstrom then announced the following Honor Awards (12:13):

  • Valedictorian, Class of 2021: Thomas Barker ’21

  • Class Speaker, Class of 2021: Matt Presson ’21

  • Robert P. Holding Memorial Scholarship: Alice Pedretti ’23 and Nolan Dirks ’23

  • Rensselaer Medal: Oscar Schacht ’22

  • Johns Hopkins Book Award: Heidi Segars ’22

  • Wellesley Book Award: Lindsay Carter ’22

  • Ravenscroft School Cliosophic Society 2021 Book Award: Mark Naslund ’21

Director of Fine Arts David McChesney (15:13) and Athletic Director Ned Gonet (16:20) then recognized members of the Class of 2021 for achievements in their respective departments:

  • Senior Visual Art Award: Noelle Hill ’21

  • Senior Music Award: Amir Britton ’21

  • Senior Drama Award: Isabella Fordin ’21

  • Athletic Achievement Awards: Thomas Brown ’21 and Audrey Hughes ’21

  • Rusty Lewis Sportsmanship Award: Charlie Enloe ’21

  • Scholar-Athlete Award: Matthew Badger ’21, Thomas Barker ’21, Hadley Crookenden ’21, Scottie Dawson ’21, Nick Fay ’21, Bailey Foster ’21, Audrey Hughes ’21, Jack Hunt ’21 and Alexa Tascher ’21

  • Ravenscroft Triple Play: Thomas Brown ’21 and Scottie Dawson ’21

  • TISAC Sportsmanship Award: Matthew Badger ’21 and Scottie Dawson ’21

A full list of Upper School honors may be found in the program.

Congratulations to these students and to all Upper School Ravens whose hard work, tenacity and adaptability have made this school year successful.

Enjoy all of our end-of-year presentations on our website.